Truth flavored with love and humility!  That’s what I want my blog to be about.  My first blog post was a personal breakdown of Psalm 51.  I wanted to start with that, because I saw it as a way to set a precedent for where I’m coming from.

David, by some people’s standards may have seemed a bit arrogant.  We find him in 1 Samuel refusing to wear the King’s armor because it felt cumbersome and unfamiliar, but confident that he could beat Goliath regardless.  That was only after he first explained to the the king, Saul, in detail why was perfectly capable of defeating Goliath.  “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The LORD who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.” Later, we see him standing before Goliath, ready to fight saying…. “This day the LORD will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you down, and cut off your head” (1 Samuel 17).  All of this likely took place before David turned 17.  ** Now, inject humor and a little modern day contextualization………  Imagine having that type of confidence before you barely even learn how to drive a car, get your first real job, pay a bill, go to college, get married, or have a kid!  LOL 😉

What David appears to “know” in confidence, may be more clearly revealed in vs 37 of 1 Samuel – “The LORD who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”  That type of confidence (in the Lord), is what  he ended up returning back to in his older age.  In reality, David was only strong  when He was most weak (see Sampson).  As he grew stronger, physically, mentally, in power, in knowledge, it’s possible that slowly but surely his confidence in the Lord drifted into self confidence.  We find him returning back to his roots in Psalm 51 – “10 Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” and “17 My sacrifice, O God, is[b] a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart you, God, will not despise.”  See 1 Peter 5:6 as well.

That brings me back to my point about the title of this blog post.  I hope and pray that my blog posts will always bend in the direction of boasting more in my weakness than in my own strength.   As Paul said in 2 Corinthians 12: 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  Though I may portray confidence in my opinions, I hope that the truth of God, and scripture will overshadow any of my natural tendencies to lean on my own understanding.  Even though I may believe that I have some corner on truth like the thousands of other people/Christians/bloggers, I hope that my take on “truth” (1 Corinthians 2:11) is flavored with love and humility.  Anything short of that, is nothing more than clanging cymbals, and meaningless noise (1 Corinthians 13).

