About Time
Edited By Leslyn Kim:

I felt compelled to write a short blog about very good movie that I recently watched called | About Time (2013). The movie I’m sure could be categorized or thought of in many ways. I’m sure different people would get different things from it, which is part of what makes thought-provoking movies like this so powerful.  Regardless, I figured I would throw my own hat in the ring and share some of the life lessons I learned from the movie.  The most powerful pieces of art are those that move you to change.  This one changed me.  It caused me to reevaluate how I value time.

The movie is essentially about, well, time. LOL.  For the sake of not being a spoiler I won’t go into too much detail, because its really about much more than that.   However, what I can say is the title of the film is perfect. It’s a movie about time, redeeming time, not wasting time, and using time to the best of our abilities. Now, go watch the trailer, the movie, and then come back to read the rest of the blog.  You won’t regret it.  The movie I mean. I’ve only shared it with a few people recently, but all of them seem to be pretty impressed.   Here’s the trailer:

About Time

To me, what makes the movie so good are the lives of the characters, the love shared between family members, and the interplay between their relationships and time. The main character, Tim, is a quirky socially awkward 20-something young man.   He learns from his father that he has a supernatural ability. To travel back in time.  Through the experiential use of his supernatural ability he learns that the best use of time is cherishing the here and now.  Tim’s ability to travel back in time, I believe is really an allegory for living in the past.   That although time can be redeemed (in the future), and in his case relived, the greatest moments in time are those used most effectively/or best the first time around. Here are two life lessons that this movie helped me to remember:

1) To not worry about things I can’t change.

2) Making the most of each moment in life as I’m in it, so that regret is more often an afterthought then a long term memory.

1) Don’t worry:
There’s plenty of scripture that teaches us about not worrying:

Matthew 6

New International Version (NIV)

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Philippians 4

New International Version (NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

There’s some pretty powerful hints of predestination in this movie.  There are events that occur in Tim’s life that he tries to go back and rearrange.  Yet, even after multiple do-overs we see that he still runs into the same dilemmas and situations.  Perhaps we should see life in a similar way?  Embrace the (good) mistakes, the situations we often wish we could have a second chance at.  What God predestines no man can change:

Psalm 139

16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

2) Be happy:
It would be dangerous to live in an eternally hedonistic mindstate where happiness is always the end goal.  So, happy may not be the right word here, but it fits in well with this happy-go-lucky blog post 😉  The goal is to find contentment in Christ and his will for my life.  Though, with that being said there’s some real value to finding personal happiness as we walk through this life.  Solomon, the wisest man to ever live understood it well (Eccl. 8:15).  My favorite part of the movie is toward the end.  Tim’s father gives him three treasured nuggets of truth.  But, there was one particular bit of truth that stood out from all the others for me.

This quote by Tim pretty much sums it up:

“The truth is I now don’t travel back at all (live in the past).  I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day.  To enjoy it.  As if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life”

Powerful, powerful stuff!  Blessings…….

